Eavan Boland

Eavan Boland (1944–2020) authored many books over her distinguished career, including, most recently, A Poet’s Dublin (2016) and A Woman Without a Country (2014). Other poetry volumes include Domestic Violence (2007); Against Love Poetry (2001); The Lost Land (1998); and In a Time of Violence (1994). Boland also published two books of prose: A Journey with Two Maps: Becoming a Woman Poet (2011) and Object Lessons: The Life of the Woman and the Poet in Our Time (1995); she also co-edited with Mark Strand and Edward Hirsch the Norton anthologies The Making of a Sonnet (2007) and The Making of a Poem (2000). Her numerous honors include a Lannan Foundation Award in poetry and membership in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences as well as the Royal Irish Academy. Boland directed the creative-writing program at Stanford University. 

Eavan Boland

Features Uncategorized

Translating the Word for Home

  A small city disappears in the near-sighted dusk of a coastal winter. Someone is walking home as I once did. Someone is thinking as I did once this is their neighborhood, their consolation. Once I thought words could describe this. Now I reach for the sable brush my mother once used, lifting it clear […]

Read More