Old Maids

Margaret Gibson is the current poet laureate of Connecticut and the author of twelve books of poems, all from Louisiana State University Press, most recently Not Hearing the Wood Thrush (2018) and The Glass Globe (forthcoming in 2021), as well as a memoir, The Prodigal Daughter (University of Missouri Press, 2008). The Vigil (1993) was a finalist for the National Book Award in Poetry; Broken Cup (2016) was a finalist for the Poets’ Prize, and its title poem won a Pushcart Prize that year. Gibson is professor emerita at the University of Connecticut.

The City of Woe: Flannery O’Connor’s Dantean Vision

There Is No Russian Word for Privacy

You Know What I Mean?

Wordsworth and the Ghost in the Mind: The Seductions of Metaphor

Making Sense of the Movies

The Film as Poem

on The Imperial Governor by George Shipway

on The Ulysses Theme by W. B. Stanford