Ride Fly, Penetrate Loiter

The Final Prospect


“At Least I Have Made a Woman of Her”: Images of Women in Twentieth-Century Literature

Joyce Carol Oates is the author of some one hundred books in multiple genres, including the novel Little Bird of Heaven (2009), the story collection Sourland (2010), and the memoir A Widow’s Story (2011), all from Ecco. The 2010 recipient of the Ivan Sandrof Award for Lifetime Achievement of the National Book Critics Circle, Oates is the Roger S. Berlind Distinguished Professor of the Humanities at Princeton University, where she has taught since 1978. Oates’s “Ballerina” appeared in our fortieth-anniversary retrospective (Spring 1986).

on Concert in the Park of Culture by Edward Falco

on One Writer’s Beginnings by Eudora Welty

on Leaving the Door Open by David Ignatow

on Aubade: A Teacher’s Notebook by Wallace Fowlie

on The Dead and the Living by Sharon Olds