Men’s Middles


Kim Bridgford has published five books of poetry, including Hitchcock’s Coffin: Sonnets about Classic Films (David Robert Books, 2011). Her 2007 collection, In the Extreme: Sonnets about World Records (Contemporary Poetry Review Press), won the Donald Justice Poetry Prize that year. She directs the West Chester University Poetry Center and the West Chester University Poetry Conference.

Powerful Red Dogs: Excerpts from a Painter’s Studio Notes (

A Dialectic for Spring Quarter

Deceptive Cadences

In the Garden of Earthly Delights

Julie Suk is the author of five volumes of poetry and is co-editor of Bear Crossings, an anthology of North American poets. Her most recent book, Lie Down With Me: New and Selected Poems, was published in 2011 by Autumn House Press, and her work is forthcoming in the Cimarron Review, Great River Review, and Southern Poetry Review.

The Very Pineapple

Charlotte Zoë Walker’s novel Condor and Hummingbird was published by Alice Walker’s Wild Trees Press in 1986 and by the Women’s Press in the United Kingdom in 1987. She has also published about a dozen short stories, as well as essays on literature and nature, and edited two books on naturalist John Burroughs (The Art of Seeing Things and Sharp Eyes, both from Syracuse University Press). Her previous publication in The Georgia Review was “The Very Pineapple,” which was reprinted in Prize Stories 1991: The O. Henry Awards. She has been a recipient of the National Endowment for the Arts fellowship, and is nearing completion of her third novel, Gray Face and Eve. She is a professor emerita of English and women’s studies at SUNY-Oneonta.

A New Poet

Linda Pastan’s fourteenth book of poems, Insomnia, will be published by W. W. Norton in the fall of 2015. Recent poems have appeared in the Paris Review, the Atlantic Monthly, the New Yorker, and the Gettysburg Review. Her books have twice been finalists for the National Book Award, and in 2003 she won the Ruth Lily Prize for lifetime achievement. She was poet laureate of Maryland from 1991 to 1995.