Squeeze Me, I Sing

Darrell Spencer is the author of the novel One Mile Past Dangerous Curve (University of Michigan Press, 2005) and four collections of short stories, including Drue Heinz Literature Prize winner Bring Your Legs with You (University of Pittsburgh Press, 2004) and Caution: Men in Trees (2000), winner of the Flannery O’Connor Award for Short Fiction from the University of Georgia Press. He taught in the creative writing program at Ohio University for seventeen years and currently teaches at Southern Utah University.

In the Lion’s Cage (poem)

David Starkey’s most recent poetry collections are A Few Things You Should Know About the Weasel (Biblioasis, 2010) and It Must Be Like the World (Pecan Grove Press, 2011). He is the author of the bestselling textbook Creative Writing: Four Genres in Brief (Bedford/St. Martin’s, 2008) and is the founding director of the creative writing program at Santa Barbara City College.

Mourners, Onlookers, Gawkers (poem)

Maxine Kumin’s seventeenth poetry collection, Where I Live: New and Selected Poems 1990–2010 (W. W. Norton, 2010), won the Los Angeles Times Book Prize in 2011. Kumin’s other awards include the Pulitzer Prize, the Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize, the Poets’ Prize, and the Harvard Arts and Robert Frost medals. A former United States poet laureate, Kumin lives with her husband on a farm in the Mink Hills of New Hampshire, where they have raised horses for forty years and enjoyed the companionship of several rescued dogs.

Isogloss: Language and Legacy on Mount St. Helens (essay)

Elizabeth Dodd’s essay in this issue will appear in her new book, Horizon’s Lens: My Time on the Turning World, forthcoming from the University of Nebraska Press in fall 2012. She teaches at Kansas State University.

Voice in the Whirlwind (essay)

William Johnson is the author of three poetry collections, including Out of the Ruins (Confluence Press, 1999), chosen as the Idaho Book of the Year; What Thoreau Said (1991), a critical study of Walden; and, most recently, the essay collection A River without Banks (Oregon State University Press, 2010). He has received a National Endowment for the Arts fellowship in poetry, served twice as Idaho Writer-in-Residence, the state’s highest literary honor, and is professor emeritus at Lewis-Clark State College in Lewiston, Idaho.

In Praise of Surrealism & In Praise of the Ordinary (poems)

Neil Carpathios’ poetry volumes are Beyond the Bones (FutureCycle Press, 2009), At the Axis of Imponderables (winner of the Quercus Review Press Book Award, 2007), and Playground of Flesh (Main Street Rag Press, 2006). He is coordinator of creative writing at Shawnee State University in Portsmouth, Ohio.

The More Mysterious: An Interview with Robert Morgan

Jesse Graves is co-editor of “Contemporary Appalachia,” volume 3 of The Southern Poetry Anthology (Texas Review Press, 2010). His first poetry collection was Tennessee Landscape with Blighted Pine (2011), published by the same press, and his poems have appeared in Prairie Schooner and Connecticut Review, among other journals. An assistant professor of English at East Tennessee State University, Graves grew up in Sharps Chapel, Tennessee, in a community his German ancestors settled in the 1780s.

Left Behind; Decoration Day; & Living Tree (poems)

Robert Morgan’s most recent book of poems is Terroir (Penguin, 2011). He is the author of the best-selling novel Gap Creek (1999) and the nonfiction books Boone: A Biography (2007) and Lions of the West (2011)—all three from Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill. A sequel to Gap Creek, The Road from Gap Creek, will be published in 2013. His honors include an Academy Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters; the Thomas Wolfe Prize; and the Hanes Award for Poetry from the Fellowship of Southern Writers. A native of western North Carolina, he has taught at Cornell University since 1971.

Eudora Welty: All Serious Daring Starts from Within (essay)

Fenton Johnson is the author of two novels, Crossing the River (1989) and Scissors, Paper, Rock (1993), as well as Geography of the Heart: A Memoir (1996), Keeping Faith: A Skeptic’s Journey among Christian and Buddhist Monks (2003), and essays and stories for Harper’s Magazine, the New York Times, and many literary quarterlies. His honors include fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts, two Lambda Literary Awards, and the American Library Association’s Stonewall Book Award for best gay/lesbian nonfiction. Johnson teaches in the creative writing program at the University of Arizona.

Past Issues

Winter 2021

Fall 2021

Summer 2021

Spring 2021

Winter 2020

Fall 2020

Summer 2020

Spring 2020

Winter 2019

Fall 2019