Return to News

Elly Bookman Wins 2017 Loraine Williams Poetry Prize


We offer our congratulations to Elly Bookman, who was selected by judge Naomi Shihab Nye as winner of the fifth annual Loraine Williams Poetry Prize. Bookman will receive $1,000 for her poem “Lesson,” which will appear in our Spring 2018 issue.

Elly Bookman’s poetry has appeared or is forthcoming in the New Yorker, American Poetry Review, the Florida Review, the Journal, and elsewhere. She was the recipient of the first annual Stanley Kunitz Memorial Prize from APR, and was featured in Rattle’s Poets Respond series. She writes and teaches in Atlanta, Georgia. 

We thank everyone who submitted to this year’s contest, and we look forward to reading work from both previous and first-time entrants when the sixth annual Loraine Williams Poetry Prize competition opens on April 1, 2018.