The Question of Autobiography in Cardinal Newman’s “Apologia Pro Vita Sua

The Dance

As the Other Sees Me

The Self and the World: Poe’s Early Poems

Squatter’s Rights to the Marine Lands

Coleridge and the Deluded Reader: “The Rime of the Ancient Mariner


The Far Side of the Moon

First Death, 1950

Joyce Carol Oates is the author of some one hundred books in multiple genres, including the novel Little Bird of Heaven (2009), the story collection Sourland (2010), and the memoir A Widow’s Story (2011), all from Ecco. The 2010 recipient of the Ivan Sandrof Award for Lifetime Achievement of the National Book Critics Circle, Oates is the Roger S. Berlind Distinguished Professor of the Humanities at Princeton University, where she has taught since 1978. Oates’s “Ballerina” appeared in our fortieth-anniversary retrospective (Spring 1986).

Past Issues

Summer 2022

Spring 2022

Winter 2021

Fall 2021

Summer 2021

Spring 2021

Winter 2020

Fall 2020

Summer 2020

Spring 2020