on The Letters of Thomas Wolfe to His Mother by C. Hugh Holman, Sue Fields Ross

on Flannery O’Connor by Robert Drake; Charles Williams by Mary McDermott Shideler; &Ernest Hemingway by Nathan A. Scott, Jr.

on Mark Twain as Critic by Sydney J. Krause

A Memory of War: (For George Seferis)

The Drowned Man (1796); The Grandfather; The Paw; The Grandmother; & Chill from Sunlight

To a Young Playwright: (With Respects to Hart Crane); The Moonshade Cat; To the One Who Works on the Land; & On the Death of James, Gerbil

Old Maids

Margaret Gibson is the current poet laureate of Connecticut and the author of twelve books of poems, all from Louisiana State University Press, most recently Not Hearing the Wood Thrush (2018) and The Glass Globe (forthcoming in 2021), as well as a memoir, The Prodigal Daughter (University of Missouri Press, 2008). The Vigil (1993) was a finalist for the National Book Award in Poetry; Broken Cup (2016) was a finalist for the Poets’ Prize, and its title poem won a Pushcart Prize that year. Gibson is professor emerita at the University of Connecticut.

The City of Woe: Flannery O’Connor’s Dantean Vision

There Is No Russian Word for Privacy

Past Issues

Summer 2022

Spring 2022

Winter 2021

Fall 2021

Summer 2021

Spring 2021

Winter 2020

Fall 2020

Summer 2020

Spring 2020