Joyce Carol Oates is the author of some one hundred books in multiple genres, including the novel Little Bird of Heaven (2009), the story collection Sourland (2010), and the memoir A Widow’s Story (2011), all from Ecco. The 2010 recipient of the Ivan Sandrof Award for Lifetime Achievement of the National Book Critics Circle, Oates is the Roger S. Berlind Distinguished Professor of the Humanities at Princeton University, where she has taught since 1978. Oates’s “Ballerina” appeared in our fortieth-anniversary retrospective (Spring 1986).

The Witch’s Life; Locked Doors; & Snow

The Burial

The Symbol of the Archaic

To Maia & The Middle of the Garden

Marchenbilder & As One Put Drunk into the Packet-Boat

Four Photographs

More of the World Viewed

The World Viewed