The Loraine Williams Poetry Prize

Cole Swenson author photo

Cole Swensen, judge of the 2024 Loraine Williams Poetry Prize, is the author of nineteen books of poetry, most recently And And And (Shearsman Books, 2023); a collection of hybrid ekphrastic essay-poems, Art in Time (Nightboat Books, 2021); and a volume of critical essays, Noise that Stays Noise (University of Michigan Press, 2011). She is a former Guggenheim Fellow and recipient of the Iowa Poetry Prize, the San Francisco State University Poetry Center Book Award, a National Poetry Series selection, and the PEN USA Award in Translation. She has been a finalist twice for the Los Angeles Times Book Award and once for the National Book Award, and was a permanent faculty member at the Iowa Writers’ Workshop for ten years and in Brown University’s Department of Literary Arts for twelve years.


The Loraine Williams Poetry Prize is an annual award for a single poem, to be published in The Georgia Review. The winner will receive an honorarium of $1,500.

Annual time frame: Submissions to be considered for the Loraine Williams Poetry Prize must be sent either online from February 7 through May 15 or by regular mail postmarked within the same span of time. The winning poem and author will be announced by August 15, and the poem will appear in the Winter issue of the same year. All submitted poems will be considered for publication in The Georgia Review; any selected will be paid our regular poetry honorarium of $4 per line.

Please note that students, faculty, staff, and administrators currently affiliated with the University of Georgia are ineligible for the LWPP. Intimate friends, relatives, colleagues, and former or current students of a judge are also ineligible to enter. Previous winners of our contest should wait three years before entering again.

Full details for the 2025 Loraine Williams Poetry Prize will be announced later this year.

The Georgia Review 
thanks the late Loraine Williams for her sponsorship of this prize. Ms. Williams was a longtime Atlanta-based patron of the arts.